programatically using ScreenSpaceLines3D?

Topics: Developer Forum
Feb 13, 2007 at 11:34 AM
hi,
i'm new to WPF and 3D in general, i have a working application with a cube and slider controls to manipulate the camera position and look vector.

i'd like to draw a 10x10 3D grid to fill the space. can i use ScreenSpaceLines3D for this? the source class file shows hard-coded usage in xaml, but i'm interested in programmatic use. the code i have is below, i know it will just result in a mangle of lines, but that would be a good start!
private void DrawGrid()
{
	ScreenSpaceLines3D grid = new ScreenSpaceLines3D();
	for(int i=0; i<10; i++)
		for(int j=0; j<10; j++)
			for(int k=0; k<10; k++)
				grid.Points.Add(new Point3D(i,j,k)); 
	grid.Color = Colors.Azure;
	grid.Thickness = 3;
	this.mainViewport.Children.Add(grid);
}
i noticed the MakeWireFrame() method, but i don't have any Model3D objects to do that with.
any tips / pointers?

many thanks in advance
tim

p.s. here's my xaml in case it's useful, i have stripped down the code-behind just to draw the grid in the OnLoaded event.
<Window x:Class="WPF_Test.Window1"
    xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
    xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
	xmlns:tools="clr-namespace:_3DTools;assembly=3DTools"
    Title="WPF_Test" Height="320" Width="458" WindowState="Maximized"
    >
	<Grid ShowGridLines="True" Name="WorldGrid">
		<DockPanel
		 Width="Auto"
		 VerticalAlignment="Stretch"
		 Height="Auto"
		 HorizontalAlignment="Stretch"
		 Grid.ColumnSpan="1"
		 Grid.Column="0"
		 Grid.Row="0"
		 Margin="0,0,0,0"
		 Grid.RowSpan="1"
		>
			<StackPanel>
				<StackPanel.Background>
					<LinearGradientBrush>
						<GradientStop Color="White" Offset="0"/>
						<GradientStop Color="DarkKhaki" Offset=".3"/>
						<GradientStop Color="DarkKhaki" Offset=".7"/>
						<GradientStop Color="White" Offset="1"/>
					</LinearGradientBrush>
				</StackPanel.Background>
				<StackPanel Margin="10">